Lu Wang

Wailing (2008) for orchestra

Composer and pianist Wang Lu was born in Xi’an, the ancient capital of
China, in 1982. Being brought up in a musical family with strong Chinese
opera and folk music traditions, her works reflect a very natural
identification with those influences, through the prism of contemporary
instrumental techniques and new sonic possibilities.
Wang Lu is currently a doctoral candidate in composition at Columbia
University, after graduating with highest honors from the Central
Conservatory of Music in Beijing. Her teachers have included Fred Lerdahl,
George Lewis, Tristan Murail, and Chou-Wen Chung.
Her works for a variety of Western and Chinese ensembles and orchestras
have been performed in China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Japan, Korea,
Europe, and the US, by ensembles including the Minnesota Orchestra,
Orchestre National de Lille of France, Holland Symfonia, Shanghai
National Chinese Orchestra, Albany Symphony, Musiques Nouvelles
(Belgium), Le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (Montreal), Phoenix Ensemble
(Basel), and Beijing New Music Ensemble. In New York her work has been
played by the International Contemporary Ensemble, Argento Ensemble,
Momenta Quartet, So Percussion and counterinduction, among others.
She has participated in festivals such as the Gaudeamus Music Week
(2010 finalist), Tanglewood Music Center, Cabrillo Music Festival, Pacific
Music Festival, Takefu International Music Festival, Centre Acanthes, and
the Beijing Modern.
She won the first prize at Le Nouvel Ensemble Moderne’s Young
Composers Forum 2010 and the Tactus International Young Composers
Orchestra Forum Award in 2008. She was selected for a Tremplin
commission by IRCAM/Ensemble Intercontemporain in 2010, and also
received two ASCAP Morton Gould awards.
Her current projects include commissions from the Ensemble
Intercontemporain, the American Composers Orchestra, and the Taipei
Chinese Orchestra.