2011 Year-End Wrap Up: News, Congratulations, Welcomes, Goodbyes

The following list of news and announcements is an amended/updated version of the Chair's Report presented by outgoing Chair Prof. Aaron Fox at the Music Department's annual General Meeting, on May 4, 2011.

As the 2010-11 academic year draws to a close, the Department of Music has many items of news and congratulations to share, many new people to welcome into our community, and a few to whom we are saying a fond farewell.

(If you wish to add items to this list that may have been overlooked, please send an email to Prof. Fox.)

In Memoriam
We note with sadness the passing of two beloved members of our community during the past year: former Chair and Professor Emeritus Jack Beeson (1921-2010); and Professor Emeritus Edward Lippman (1920-2010). 

-- To Prof. Tristan Murail, who has served on our faculty with international distinction since 1997.  Prof. Murail and his wife, Francoise Pellie-Murail, who has served as our Ear Training Coordinator also since 1997, have returned to France.  Tristan Murail  has also been named the Francis Goelet Professor Emeritus of Music Composition by a resolution of the Columbia University Board of Trustees.  We wish the Murails our very best!

-- To Prof. David Cohen, who has served on our faculty since 2002 with distinction and dedication.

-- To Mellon postdoctoral fellows Aaron Einbond and Nathan Martin, both of whom have added immensely to the intellectual and musical life of our Department over the prior 2 years.   Dr. Martin will be taking up an SSHRC postdoctoral fellowship at Harvard for 2011-12.

-- To Elizabeth Lara, who has worked in the Music and Arts Library for several years, and is leaving us to take up a faculty position in 'cello at Austin Peay State University.

-- To new babies born to Prof. Fabien Levy and spouse Elise Primavera; and to recent PhD alumnus Tyler Bickford and spouse Sherilyn Sapporito.

-- To Dr. Peter Susser, who is an alumnus of Columbia's DMA program in Composition and who has served the Department as an adjunct instructor for over a decade with great distinction, has been appointed as a Lecturer in Discipline and will coordinate our basic music theory and ear-training course offering.

-- To three new postdoctoral fellows to the Department:  incoming Mellon Teaching Fellows Jaime Oliver and Davide Ceriani, and incoming ACLS New Faculty Fellow Arman Schwartz

-- To our eleven incoming PhD and DMA students for 2011-12:  Nina Young, Kevin Holt, Anne Levitsky, Taylor Brook, Cesar Colon-Montijo, Brooke Lyssy, Orit Hilewicz, Beatriz Goubert, Tyshawn Sorey, William Mason, and Thomas Smith.


-- To Dr. Tyler Bickford, winner of the Presidential Teaching Award for service to the Core Curriculum for 2010-11, and recipient of a Core Curriculum Postdoctoral Teaching Fellowhship at Columbia.  Dr. Bickford defended his dissertation in Ethnomusicology with Distinction in May, 2011.

-- To Prof. Mark Seto, recent PhD in Historical Musicology, who has been appointed to a tenure-track Assistant Professorship in music history and conducting at Connecticut College.

-- To Prof. Corbett Bazler, recent PhD in Historical Musicology, who has accepted a tenure-track Assistant Professorship in Musicology at the Eastman School of Music and the University of Rochester.

-- To Prof. Sean Parr, recent PhD in Historical Musicology, who has accepted a tenure-track position in Musicology and Voice at Saint Anselm College, New Hampshire.

-- To Prof. Ben Piekut, PhD alumnus in Historical Musicology, who has accepted a tenure track Assistant Professorship in Musicology at Cornell University.

-- To Prof. Anna Stirr, recent PhD in Ethnomusicology, who has accepted a tenure track Assistant Professorship in Asian Performing Arts at the University of Hawai'i at Manoa, as well as a Postdoctoral Fellow in Asian Modernities and Traditions, Faculty of Humanities, Leiden Institute for Area Studies (LIAS).

-- To Dr. Farzaneh Hemmasi, recent PhD in Ethnomusicology, who has accepted a Postdoctoral Fellowship at the University of Pennsylvania's Penn Humanities Forum.

-- To Prof. Karen Henson, Assistant Professor of Historical Musicology, who has accepted a Fellowship at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University.

-- To outgong Mellon postdoctoral fellow Nathan Martin, who has accepted an SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship at Harvard University.

-- To PhD student Katharina Clausius, who has accepted an SSHRC doctoral fellowship.

-- To Ethnomusicology PhD Candidate Martha Newland, who has been awarded a Ford Dissertation Fellowship and a 2011 Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation MMUF Travel and Research Grant, as well as the Myerson Award for excellence in teaching in the Columbia Core Curriculum.

-- To Ethnomusicology PhD student Trevor Reed, who has been awarded a 3-year Ford Pre-Doctoral Fellowship.

-- To Historical Musicology PhD candidate Harald Kisiedu, winner of the Howard Mayer Brown Dissertation Fellowship from the American Musicological Society.

-- To Historical Musicology PhD candidates Daniel Callahan, Kristy Riggs, and Beau Bothwell, all of whom won Columbia's Whiting Dissertation Fellowship.

-- To Alexander Rothe, Historical Musicology PhD candidate, who has been awarded a DAAD fellowship for dissertation research in Germany.

-- To Joshua Walden, recent Historical Musicology PhD, who has accepted a Mellon Postdoctoral Fellowship in the Humanities at Johns Hopkins University.

-- To Ethnomusicology graduate students Katie Aiken and Naomi Sturm, each of whom won summer travel grants for pre-dissertation research from the Institute for Latin American Studies at Columbia.

Changes in Departmental Leadership for 2011-12

Prof. Aaron Fox has stepped down as Chairman of the Department.  Prof. Giuseppe Gerbino is the Department's new Chairman.  Replacing Prof. Gerbino as Vice-Chair will be Prof. George Lewis.   Prof. Lewis has stepped down as Director of the Center for Jazz Studies; he is replaced in that role by Prof. John Szwed. 

Leaves and Returns for 2011-12

Profs. Dubiel, Boynton, and Henson will be on academic leave for the duration of 2011-12.  Profs. Fox, Levy, and Lerdahl will be on leave in the fall semester, 2011; Prof. Frisch will be on leave in the spring semester of 2012.

We welcome back Prof. Ana Maria Ochoa from leave; she will return as Director of the Center for Ethnomusicology in the fall.