Sampo Haapamaki

Sampo Haapamaki

Sampo Haapamäki (born February 3, 1979) has composed a double concerto, two concertos, three chamber orchestra works, compositions for mixed choir and tape, violin and live electronics, concert band, big band, and chamber music. Haapamäki had a composition recital in Musica nova Helsinki festival in 2006. Haapamäki was the Tapiola Sinfonietta's Composer-in-Residence for the season 2011-12.

Haapamäki studied composition at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki with Tapio Nevanlinna (1998-2002) and Veli-Matti Puumala (2002-05) and graduated as a Master of Music in 2005. In the winter semester 2006-07 Haapamäki studied with Claus-Steffen Mahnkopf at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Leipzig. Sampo Haapamäki has studied composition with Tristan Murail (2005-06, 2007-09) in the city of New York at the Columbia University, from where Haapamäki obtained his Doctor of Musical Arts in 2012. He took part in a composition and music technology course, Cursus 1, at IRCAM in Paris, Grégoire Lorieux as his tutor, during the academic year 2012-13.

Haapamäki has received the Gaudeamus International Composers Award 2004 in Amsterdam, and International Society of Contemporary Music (ISCM) - Young Composer Award 2005 in Zagreb. In 2006 he was granted the Teosto prize by Copyright Society Teosto in Helsinki. He was also a finalist at the Queen Elisabeth Competition for Composition in Brussels 2003. In the same year he received the Second Prize in the competition for composers announced by The Association of Baltic Academies of Music ABAM in Hamburg. Haapamäki is a member of Ears Open Society, Columbia Composers and Society of Finnish Composers.

Bio courtesy of his website.

Order in "Desordre" Rhythmic and Melodic Structure in Gyorgy Ligeti's Piano Etude No. 1. "Velinikka" Concerto for Quarter-Tone Accordion and Chamber Orchestra
Columbia Degrees: 
DMA, Composition