2020 Student Prizes for Composers -- The Charles S. Miller Award -- Sharon Rose Hurvitz and Annie Nikunen

Sharon Rose Hurvitz and Annie Nikunen

The Department of Music is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020 prizes for distinction in Music Composition, awarded annually to undergraduate and graduate students who demonstrate distinction in the area of Music Composition, as determined by a committee of faculty members in the Composition area.

The Charles S. Miller Award (undergraduate) 

Awarded annually to two graduating seniors who, in the opinion of the Faculty, have demonstrated excellence of the highest standard in the field of Music Composition. 

Awarded to Sharon Rose Hurvitz (left) and Annie Nikunen (right).

Sharon Hurvitz is a composer with a focus on tonal pieces and a graduating senior of Columbia's class of 2020, majoring in Music Composition with a minor in Visual Arts. In 2013, she was a part of the LA Philharmonic Composer Fellowship Program, writing three pieces for full orchestra as well numerous short chamber works, working with James Matheson, Sarah Gibson, and Andrew Norman. At Columbia, Sharon studied with composers Mahir Cetiz, Georg Friedrich Haas, and Zosha Di Castri.

Annie Nikunen is a senior at Barnard College, majoring in Music and studying flute at Manhattan School of Music with Tara O’Connor. She is a founding member of Blackbox Ensemble, and performs in contemporary, classical, jazz and dance settings. Annie has studied composition with Georg Friedrich Haas, Ellie Hisama and Mahir Cetiz. Her recent works have been performed by ensembles including International Contemporary Ensemble and Fonema Consort. Collaborating with dancers/cinematographers, and as a dancer herself, her works emphasize physicality of sound. Annie was Business Manager/Classical Head at WKCR, where she hosts a show highlighting music of New York City Ballet.

To read about the other recipients of Student Awards, click here and here!