2023 Student Prizes for Composers — The Charles S. Miller Prize — Bethany Younge

The Department of Music is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 prizes for distinction in Music Composition, awarded annually to undergraduate and graduate students who demonstrate distinction in the area of Music Composition, as determined by a committee of faculty members in the Composition area.

The Charles S. Miller Prize (graduate)

Awarded annually to graduate students in the field of Music Composition who, in the opinion of the Faculty, have achieved distinction of the highest standard.

Awarded to Bethany Younge (DMA ’23)

Bethany Younge is currently serving as the Technical Director of the music department at Dartmouth College.Younge’s compositions have been featured in the 2020 National Sawdust New Works Commission, the Long Beach Opera Songbook, the International Summer Course for New Music Darmstadt, Resonant Bodies Festival, Gaudeamus Muziekweek, and has collaborated with ensembles JACK Quartet, TAK Ensemble, International Contemporary Ensemble, Fonema Consort, Ekmeles Vocal Ensemble and many others. She has been awarded the Stipend Prize at the International Summer Course for New Music Darmstadt, the Kanter/Mivos Prize, the Barcelona Festival Mixtur Commission Award, the American Academy of Arts and Letters Charles Ives Award, a Fromm Commission Award, and was nominated for the Gaudeamus Award.