2023 Student Prizes for Composers — The Douglas Moore Prize — Sofia Jen Ouyang

The Department of Music is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 prizes for distinction in Music Composition, awarded annually to undergraduate and graduate students who demonstrate distinction in the area of Music Composition, as determined by a committee of faculty members in the Composition area.

The Douglas Moore Prize

Awarded annually to a junior undergraduate composer who, in the opinion of the Faculty, has produced outstanding work in serious composition for smaller forms.

Awarded to Sofia Jen Ouyang

Sofia Jen Ouyang is interested in the intersection of musical, literary, and philosophical concepts. Winner of The American Prize and the Juilliard Gena Raps Prize (2022), Sofia is currently pursuing bachelor degrees in Philosophy and Music at Columbia University, and studying with Andrew Norman at The Juilliard School. Sofia’s works have been selected for Lucerne Festival Composer Seminar and the Serbian 31st Review of Composers, National Sawdust’s BluePrint Fellowship, and Society of Composers Inc. Sofia’s music has been performed at Columbia’s Miller Theatre, Lincoln Center, Lake Champlain Music Festival, New Music On The Point, and Atlantic Music Festival. She has collaborated with JACK Quartet, New York Virtuoso Singers, members of Yarn/Wire, and members of International Contemporary Ensemble.