Music and the Body Between Revolutions: Paris, 1789-1848

Fri, Mar 31 to Sat, Apr 1

This interdisciplinary conference and workshop will examine the interaction between music, science, and medicine in Paris, as they were influenced by the reframing of the self in the aftermath of successive revolutionary upheavals.

Columbia University Orchestra at ALFRED J. LERNER HALL

Sun, Apr 2 - 8:00pm

Sunday April 2, 2017 | 8 PM
Columbia University Orchestra

Roone Arledge Auditorium at Alfred J. Lerner Hall
This event is FREE & OPEN to the public 

The Columbia University Orchestra plays the music of Wagner, Haydn, and Berlioz. Also featuring the 2017 concerto competition winner, Alec Hon

Jeffrey Milarsky, Conductor and Music Director 

Annual MPP Gala Concert

Mon, Apr 3 - 8:00pm

Music Performance Program is pleased to announce the annual MPP gala concert at Carnegie Hall's Weill Recital Hall, on Monday, April 3rd, 2017 at 8 PM.

Clara Schumann and Johannes Brahms: Chamber Music and Panel Discussion

Thu, Apr 6 -
3:00pm to 5:00pm

The Bard College Conservatory, Columbia University Departments of History and Music, and the Columbia University Music Performance Program present:

"Clara Schumann and Johannes Brahms: Chamber Music and Panel Discussion on Friendship and Sociability in Mid-19th Century Central Europe."

The music featured will be an excerpt from Schumann's Piano Trio in G Minor, Op. 17 and Brahms' Piano Quintet in F Minor, Op. 34.

Reservations required for anyone not holding a Columbia University ID. Contact martin [at]

Reembodied Sound

Fri, Apr 7 to Sun, Apr 9

Reembodied Sound: A Symposium and Festival of Transducer-based Music and Sonic Art

Composers Win Charles Ives Awards

Katherine Balch (DMA Composition student) and Sky Macklay (DMA Composition) have both received Charles Ives Scholarships from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. These scholarships of $7500 are given to composition students of great promise.