Columbia Students, Alumni, and Faculty Awarded Civitella Ranieri Fellowships

The Music Jury of the Civitella Ranieri Foundation has selected a number of Columbia students, alumni, and faculty to receive prestigious Civitella Ranieri Fellowships for 2020 and 2021, including current DMA students Katherine BalchWilliam Dougherty, and Hannah Kendall;  DMA alumni Ashkan BehzadiCourtney Bryan, and Matthew Ricketts; and Miya Masaoka, Associate Professor and Director of the Sound Art Program, School of the Arts.

Located in a 15th century castle in the Umbrian region of Italy, Civitella is a residency program for international writers, composers, and visual artists. Since 1995, Civitella has hosted more than 900 Fellows and Director’s Guests. The Center enables its Fellows to pursue their work and to exchange ideas in a unique and inspiring setting.  Civitella Ranieri Fellowships are awarded through a careful nomination and jury process by a rotating group of distinguished artists, academics, and critics that ensures access to a highly diverse group of emerging and accomplished candidates from around the world. Only nominated candidates may apply and a review jury makes selections.

Congratulations to all!